Pranayama

Tonight, once again, I thought, “Not gonna do it today.”  I made it through the whole day and when we were about to watch LOST I said, I haven’t done yoga today.  Brian said, no TV, go do yoga.  Ugh.  He was right.  I think the idea here too is to understand it’s my version of prayer.  I live in my body.  This is what I do to pray.  This is not exercise or a to do list.  This is peace.

So much has changed.  In the very beginning, this summer on my first attempt at yoga everyday, I really got the breathing going w/ each pose, moving with breath.  This sustains me.  Today I really got the ujjayi pranayama –slowing down the breath by making an H sound in a whisper at the back of your throat w/ mouth closed — slows down me rushing through my practice.  Not that I take more breaths or even, I don’t think, that each breath is longer…but somehow I got way more grounded, way more out of my head and into my body, and way more slowed down (though as I said, at the same pace) through focus on ujjayi breath.  This also activates the diaphragm, strengthening the core but also giving a very strong center to each pose.

I also really noticed tonight my feet were on the mat.  Like poured out of a glass and spread out!  I was touching ground in a way I never feel in the morning.  This suction cup-like feel to the earth gave me that deepening strength in my core, I believe, like leaning back and slouching a little into your chair, relaxed and immovable.

Gentleness.  Seeping into me.  Gentleness washing over me.

Good-night.

One thought on “Pranayama

  1. Besides all that ‘LOST” sucks hahaha glued to the floor, eh? very cool . . .

Leave a Reply

